## KNOW ABOUT OUR NEW RAIL MINISTER - SHRI PAWAN KUMAR BANSAL

Name Shri Pawan Kumar Bansal

Constituency from which elected Chandigarh

Father's Name Late Shri Piara Lal Aggarwal (Tapa Wale)

Mother's Name Smt. Rukmani Devi

Date of Birth 16 Jul 1948

Birth Place Sunam, Distt. Sangrur (Punjab)

**Maritial Status Married** 

Date of Marriage 12 Mar 1974

**Spouse Name** Smt. Madhu Bansal

No. of Children No.of Sons:2 No.of Daughters:0

State Name Chandigarh

Party Name Indian National Congress

Permanent Address 64, Sector 28-A, Chandigarh- 160 002Tel. (0172) 2657565 Fax. (0172)

2637618

**Present Address** 6, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001Tels: (011) 23017780, 23017798, 23018729 (PH) Telefax: (011) 23782811, 23782812 (R) Fax. 23782812 (R), 23792341 (O), 23093053 (PH)

Email id <a href="mailto:pkbansal@sansad.nic.in">pkbansal@sansad.nic.in</a>

**Educational Qualifications** B.Sc., LL.B. Educated at Yadavindra Public School, Patiala; Government College, Chandigarh; and Department of Law, Panjab University, Chandigarh

## **Profession**

## **Positions Held**

1976-78 General Secretary, Chandigarh Territorial Youth Congress (I)

1978-82 General Secretary, Punjab Pradesh Youth Congress (I)

1982 President, Chandigarh Territorial Youth Congress (I)

1982-83 President, Punjab Pradesh Youth Congress (I)

1984-90 Member, Rajya Sabha

1984-86 Member, Committee on Subordinate Legislation, Rajya Sabha

Member, General Purposes Committee, Rajya Sabha

Member, Consultative Committee Ministry of Human Resource Development

Member, Joint Parliamentary Committee on Indian Medical Council (Amendment) Bill

Member, Parliamentary Committee on the Structure of Pay, Allowances, Leave and Pensionary

Benefits for the Officers and Staff of the Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha Secretariats

1985-87 Member, Panel of Vice-Chairmen, Rajya Sabha

1986 Member, Joint Committee on Railways Bill

1989-90 Whip, Congress (I) Parliamentary Party, Rajya Sabha

Member, Public Accounts Committee

1991 Elected to 10th Lok Sabha

1992 Elected to the Executive of Congress Party in Parliament (with highest No. of votes)

1992-96 Whip, Congress (I) Parliamentary Party, Lok Sabha

1993-96 Chairman, Joint Parliamentary Committee on 83rd Constitution Amendment Bill and

Representation of People (Amendment) Bill

Member, Committee on Commerce

Member, Business Advisory Committee, Lok Sabha

Member, Committee on Rules, Lok Sabha

Member, Committee on Estimates

1995-96 Chairman, Committee on Communications

1997-98 President, Chandigarh Territorial Congress Committee

1999 Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (2nd term)

Secretary, All India Congress Committee

Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting

1999-2004 Member, Business Advisory Committee

Member, Committee on Ethics

Member, Joint Parliamentary Committee on Central Vigilance Commission Bill, 1999

2000-2004 Member, Standing Committee on Information Technology and Communication

Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting

May 2004 Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha (3rd term)

2004-06 Member, Panel of Chairmen

Chief Whip, Congress Parliamentary Party

Chairman, Committee of Privileges

Chairman, Select Committee of Lok Sabha to inquire into allegations against some members regarding Parliamentary Questions

Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Home Affairs

Member, General Purposes Committee

Member, Standing Committee on Urban Development

Member, Rules Committee

Member, Business Advisory Committee

2004-2009 Treasurer, Indian Parliamentary Group (IPG)

29 Jan. 2006-22 May Minister of State, Ministry of Finance (Expenditure, Banking & Insurance)

6 Apr. 2008-22 May 2 Minister of State, Parliamentary Affairs

13 May 2009 Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (4th term)

28 May 2009 - 18 Jan Union Cabinet Minister, Parliamentary Affairs

14 Jun. 2009 - 18 Ja Union Cabinet Minister, Water Resources

19 Jan 2011 onwards Union Cabinet Minister, Parliamentary Affairs

19 Jan 2011-19 July Union Cabinet Minister, Science and Technology

Union Cabinet Minister, Earth Sciences

July 2011 onwards Union Cabinet Minister, Parliamentary Affairs and Water Resources Social and Cultural Activities Organised and participated in youth festivals, Inter-State Youth camps, N.S.S. camps, medical-aid camps in rural areas, legal-aid programmes for the poor and blood donation camps; undertook padayatras in Punjab for communal harmony; organised Rajiv Gandhi Child-to-Child National Integration camps

**Special Interests** Education, environment and electoral reforms

Countries Visited Widely travelled; Member, Indian Parliamentary Delegation to (i) Zimbabwe, 1986; (ii) 83rd Inter Parliamentary Conference; Nicosia, Cyprus 1990; (iii) U.N. General Assembly, 1994; (iv) 94th Inter-Parliamentary Conference (IPC), Bucharest, Romania, 1995; (v) Wilton Park (UK) Conference on Good Governance, 2002; (vi) Parliamentary Delegation to UNCTAD - XI Sao Paulo (Brazil), 2004; (vii) First All Party M.P's Goodwill Non-official Delegation to Pakistan 2003; (viii) Workshop on WTO (Singapore), 2004; (ix) 112th IPU at Manila, 2005 (x) Goodwill Delegation to US in September, 2008. Leader, Indian Delegation to (i) Commonwealth Parliamentary Seminar, Malaysia, 1992; (ii) Third U.N. Conference against Racism, Racial Discrimination, Xenophobia and related Intolerance held at Durban, South Africa, 2001; (iii) SAARC Finance Ministers' Conference held in Islamabad, Pakistan, 2006; (iv) 2nd China-India Financial conference, Shanghai, May, 2008; (v)

Regional Conference on Deepening Democracy held at Paro, Bhutan, 2010; (vi) Parliamentary Delegation to Istanbul, Athens & Egypt in Januaruy, 2010.

Other Information Chairman, Research and Reference Cell, All India Congress Committee (AICC), 1985-91; Official Spokesman (AICC), 1995. Member, (i) Congress Committee on Policy and Programme 1985-91; (ii) Congress Manifesto Committee, 1990; (iii) AICC Committee to analyse 10th Lok Sabha Election results 1991; (iv) National Literacy Mission Authority; (v) Philately Advisory Committee, 1987-88; (vi) Press Council of India 2004. Convenor, (i) Sub-Committee, Congress Centenary Celebrations Committee; (ii) Congress Committee on 40th Anniversary of Independence; and (iii) Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru`s Birth Centenary, 1983-89. Faculty Member, (i) Orientation Programme in Parliamentary Procedure and Practices for MPs of Khazakstan; and (ii) Indian Bureau of Parliamentary Studies and Traning (BPST); President and General Secretary, Punjab University Youth Service Club, 1969-70; and General Secretary, (i) Punjab University Student` Council, 1970-71; and (ii) Punjab and Haryana High Court Bar Association, 1978 Member, Senate (1994-96 and 1999 till date) and Syndicate (1990-92), Punjab University; The Post Graduate Institute of Medical Education and Research, Chandigarh, 1984-90, 1991-96, 1999. Member, (i) 37th Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference, New Delhi, 1991; (ii) 89th Inter-Parliamentary Conference, New Delhi, 1993.